Week 9 – GTD – Getting Things Done – Part 1

“Day 092/366 – To Do List” by Great Beyond is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Your toughest work is defining what your work is! –  Peter Drucker

SUMMARY

I finished my college essay and two of my scholarship essays. I also got to take my SAT, which I studied for. I’m getting caught back up on work I missed while taking off a few days for college work.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image of David Allen at TED Talk
Screenshot from David Allen TED Talk

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

STEP 1: MAKE A LIST

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
  • Film Week 9 & 10 Posts
  • French Blog Post
  • ESS Notes and Diagram
  • Reading Journals
  • Lang/Lit Test Part 3
  • H20 Notes and Assignments

STEP 2: NOTICE WHAT YOU NOTICED

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
  • French Blog
  • H20 Notes and Assignment
  • Lang/Lit Test Part 3
  • Film Week 9 & 10 Posts
  • ESS Notes and Diagram
  • Reading Journals

STEP 3: SET A TIMER

https://giphy.com/gifs/time-clock-konczakowski-d3yxg15kJppJilnW

OUTSIDE (PRODUCTIVITY & THE BRAIN)

David Allen image
Oct. 2020 Lucidchart interview with David Allen
  • Capture your ideas
  • Clarify and understand what you have captured
  • Organize your ideas, create a system (GTD)
  • Reflect
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done
  • Reflect on GTD and getting to the top of the colorful list above for a minute
    • This system may seem tedious or too much at first, but you are completely organized and ready to go the second you begin your tasks. It allows you to keep yourself on schedule and know what comes next once you’ve finished a task.

OPTIONAL EXERCISE – Read the article and go for another walk 🙂

 Katia Verresen homepage
Katia Verresen, kvaleadership.com

“I coach C-suite executives and rising stars from the earliest startups to Fortune 100 companies. My passion is to help ambitious leaders achieve their full human potential.”  – Read more about Katia…

  • Physical, mental and emotional energy must all be balanced, you shouldn’t focus on only one
  • Focusing on performance will allow you to do more with your time

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • This week I learned how to effectively plan my time within my planning technique I already have. I use a paper planner and track any assignments I have to do, but this GTD system allows me to break down assignments even further for effectiveness.
  • One problem I encountered this week was having to take a day off to take my SAT, but this system allowed me to get right back on track.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *